



## International Federation for the Promotion of Mechanism and Machine Science (IFToMM) IFToMM Secretary General Prof. Erwin-Christian LOVASZ, PhD

At the  $14^{th}$  IFToMM World Congress, held in Krakow, Poland, between 30 June -4 July, was elected the new Secretary General of IFToMM Prof. Erwin-Christian Lovasz from the Politehnica University of Timisoara, Romania.

The International Federation for the Promotion of Mechanisms and Machines Science (IFToMM) is one of the most important professional federation worldwide, considering the large number of national member organizations and its wide range of activities. The goal of IFToMM is to promote research and development in the field of Mechanisms and Machine Science by theoretical and experimental methods, along with their practical applications.

IFToMM was founded in 1969, in Zakopane, near Krakow, Poland, under the motto "Science without political barriers". The list of the original 13 founders is extended today to 43 national organizations, counting more than 10.000 members.

IFTOMM is an organization lead by the Executive Council, which includes the President, the Vice-President, the Secretary General, the Treasurer, the Past President and six Council Members. There are four Permanent Commissions and 13 Technical Committees.

The association gathers scientists and researchers from all over the world on the occasion of different scientific events, such as conferences and summer schools organized under its patronage and an own congress, held each four years.

IFToMM is associated with Springer, that publishes a series called Mechanisms and Machine Science (presently at volume 83), which displays the proceedings of different conferences in the field. There are six important journals affiliated to IFToMM: Mechanism and Machine Theory, Open-access Mechanical Sciences, Chinese Journal of Mechanical Engineering, Advances in Vibration Engineering, MDPI journal Machines and MDPI journal Robotics.

At the 15<sup>th</sup> IFToMM World Congress, held in Krakow, Poland, between 30 June — 4 July, were elected Prof. Andres Kecskemethy (University Duisburg, Germany) as new President, Fernando Viadero-Rueda (Universidad de Cantabria, Spain) as new Vice-President, Prof. Erwin-Christian Lovasz (Politehnica University of Timisoara, Romania) as new Secretary General and Andeas Müller (Johannes Kepler Universität, Austria) as new Treasurer, for a four-year mandate (2020 — 2023).

Prof. Erwin-Christian Lovasz is an active member of the national organization ARoTMM (Asociația Română de Ştiinţa Mecanismelor şi Maşinilor), whose Scientific Secretary is at present. Within IFToMM, he was Chair of the Technical Committee Linkages and Mechanical



Controls (2011–2017) and Secretary of Honors and Awards Committee (2018 – 2019).

Prof. Erwin-Christian Lovasz participated to all IFToMM World Congresses since 1995 (Milan, Italy — 1995, Oulu, Finland — 1999, Tianjin, China — 2004, Besancon, France — 2007, Guanajuato, Mexico — 2011, Taipei, Taiwan — 2015, Krakow, Poland — 2019). He initiated and organized during his chairship The First MeTrApp 2011, MAAM 2014, The Summer School MMDR 2014 and the forthcoming MTM&Robotics 2020 at the Politehnica University of Timisoara, bringing to our university international recognition and prestige.

The election of Prof. Erwin-Christian Lovasz in the highest leading structures of IFToMM, as a proof of his professional and managerial recognition at international level, honors the organizations he represents, namely the Politehnica University of Timisoara and the national organization ARoTMM and, subsequently, Romania.

